Vida Tennis have made some updates to this level.

To view all the latest info click on the following link 

The Head Start – Quarter level is the first stage of a child’s Vida Journey and is the start of their Fundamental Perceptual Motor Skill development with Vida. This levels starts the child’s introduction to tennis through motor skill activities vital to sport and everyday living. Each child will develop at different rates in the various motor skill areas. As we have said these skills don’t develop automatically, thus it is important to create an environment for purposeful play.

Below are the areas and specific challenges the child has achieved to receive their first certificate – Head Start Quarter;

Throwing, Kicking & Striking

  • Can have a rolling tennis rally.
  • Can stop a rolling ball with their feet and kick it back in a target direction.
  • Can throw the ball in the air and catch.

Catch, Interception & Tracking

  • Can catch a large ball with their hands.
  • Can catch a ball into a bucket.
  • Can move out of the way of objects without getting hit.

Locomotion, Balance & Agility

  • Develop static balance on a line and large ball (one leg).
  • Understands the different forms of movement, walk, run, hop, skip, jump.
  • Can balance the ball on the racquet face

Cognitive Development

  • Developing an understanding of spatial awareness to surroundings.
  • Understands sharing & taking turns.
  • Has developed Auditory Perception & can comprehend visual instruction

Rolling rally

Catch with buckets

Head Start Quarter Certificate Small

What is the Next Level and What do I have to do to achieve it?

Head Start

Click Here to view the next level in the Head Start Program.

Click Here to view the full program overview and poster.

On Certificate Question

Q.  Are Fundamental Motor Skills automatic or do they need to be taught?

A. Children do not automatically know how to throw, kick, run and jump as part of their growth and development. These are known as fundamental movement skills. In the same way kids need to learn the alphabet in order to read, they need to learn basic movement skills in order to lead a physically active, healthy life.

Further Information about your child’s development

All children go through developmental“stages” – typical and predictable changes in the following four areas:

1. Cognitive: how kids think and learn

This is the ability to learn and solve problems. For a two-month-old baby, this might be understanding their own environment with hands or eyes, while for a seven-year-old it could be learning how to do multiplication or subtraction.

2. Social and emotional development: how they react to themselves and others

This is the child’s ability to interact with others, including helping themselves and self-control. For example, learning to smile as a six-week-old baby is considered a social development milestone while for a 10-year-old boy, a social and emotional milestone might be leading and organising a game at school.

3. Speech and language development: talking, reading and communicating

This is the child’s ability to both understand and use language. For example, this includes a 12-month-old baby saying his first words, a two-year-old naming parts of her body, or a five-year-old learning to say “feet” instead of “foots”.

4. Physical development: fine motor and gross motor skills

Physical development is often broken into two distinct sections. Fine motor skills are the child’s ability to use small muscles, specifically their hands and fingers, to pick up small objects, hold a spoon or use a pencil to draw. Gross motor development is about bigger things like crawling, walking, running and hopping.

The stages build upon one another, and children progress through them at their own pace. As parents, we all want our children to succeed and be the best they can be. We know from research that two factors influence how your child succeeds and grows: genes and the environment they are nurtured in.

mlc hot shots logo